Explore Tibet with us!

Custom 4X4 Trips and car rental

Lhasa Permits and Air/Train tickets

Trekking/Riding Tours, Camping with Nomads

Horse Racing festival Tours

Amnye Machen Trekking Tours

Buddhist Monasteries Tours

Traditional festivals Tours

Personal travel Services consulting

Destinations PDF Print

Tibetan Areas

Tibet lies at the centre of Asia, with an area of 2.5 million square kilometers. The earth's highest mountains, a vast arid plateau and great river valleys make up the physical homeland of 6 million Tibetans. It has an average altitude of 4500 meters above sea level.

The historic Tibet is comprised of the three provinces of Amdo, Kham and Ü-Tsang.

Tibetan Areas

Amdo is now split into the provinces of Qinghai, Gansu & Sichuan. Kham is largely incorporated into the provinces of Sichuan, Yunnan and Qinghai. Ü-Tsang, which, together with western Kham, is today referred to by China as the Tibet Autonomous Region (TAR).

Tibetan Areas



Copyright © 2012 Tibet Culture Tour - All Rights Reserved - [site design/most photos: Jørgen Johanson]

RocketTheme Joomla Templates